Ned Israelsen, JD

Chairman and President

Mr. Israelsen is a founding investor. He was previously managing partner of the San Diego office of Knobbe Martens, a leading intellectual property law firm. Mr. Israelsen is a prolific angel investor (with over 30 startup investments) and is an active member and past treasurer of Tech Coast Angels. He is also a cofounder of CardioCreate Inc. (where he serves as chairman) and Kalyra Pharmaceuticals (where he serves as director).

G. Wesley 'Wes' Hatfield, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Hatfield is Professor Emeritus of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics in the School of Medicine and the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science in the School of Engineering of the University of California, Irvine. His primary areas of scientific expertise include molecular biology, biochemistry, microbial physiology, functional genomics, and computational biology. Dr. Hatfield is internationally recognized for his contributions to the biosynthesis and metabolic and genetic regulation of the branched chain amino acids. He is the inventor on five patents, has authored more than one hundred peer reviewed publications, numerous book chapters and scientific reviews, and a book introducing the use of Bayesian statistics for the analysis and interpretation of genomic data. In addition to his academic accomplishments, Dr. Hatfield has received national recognition and awards for his scientific and entrepreneurial contributions including the prestigious Eli Lilly Award of the American Society of Microbiology, the University of California Irvine 40th Anniversary Innovation Award, and most recently the 2015 Purdue University Science Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Elena Dneprovskaia, Ph.D.

Chief Scientific Officer

Dr. Dneprovskaia joined Actavalon in 2015 to lead the company?s drug discovery and development programs. She has over 15 years of experience in medicinal chemistry and chemical biology with a strong focus on oncology. Prior to joining Actavalon in 2015, Elena was a Co-Founder and Chief Scientific Officer of Ailuros Biosciences, LLC, a privately held drug discovery company. Previously, she held positions of increasing responsibility in Research and Development at Trega Biosciences, Inc., Lion Bioscience, GmbH., and TargeGen, Inc., where she worked on the development of novel investigational drugs for oncology, ocular, metabolic and cardiovascular diseases and obesity. Dr. Dneprovskaia graduated from Higher Chemical College of the Russian Academy of Sciences in Moscow, Russia and received her Ph.D. in organic chemistry from Iowa State University.

Michael S. Holzwarth, Ph.D.

Director of Synthetic Chemistry

Michael S. Holzwarth, Ph.D., Senior Research Scientist. Dr. Holzwarth obtained a degree in synthetic chemistry from the University of Stuttgart in Germany in 2006. During this time he was awarded an ERASMUS fellowship, which allowed him to spend six months at KTH (Royal Institute of Technology) in Stockholm, Sweden, as visiting research scientist. He received his Ph.D. degree with the highest honor of summa cum laude from the University of Stuttgart in 2008. Shortly thereafter, he was awarded a fellowship through the German Academic Exchange Service, which enabled him to join the lab of Prof. Scott Rychnovsky at the University of California, Irvine, as a postdoctoral scholar. Michael joined the Actavalon team in 2014.